Embroidery-It’s all in the detail

 If you’re a regular reader of this blog you’ll notice that I like to source a bit of history when it it comes to specific garments, materials, attire,  patterns,  etc… . I find the origins of so many fashion trends quite fascinating and enlightening. There are links to our various cultures,  traditions, geographical locations, living conditions  and social construct in fashion. I wouldn’t be surprised if I one day find myself signing up for fashion history classes. _20160619_211129

The age old art of embroidery,  also known as the craft of two hands actually came from reinforcing and mending of material using plain or coloured thread and embellishments such as beads, pearls and sequins. The craft work ranges in a variety of stitching styles. The aim was to make the patch work look more decorative and artistic and dates back to the 5th-3rd centuries BC in China. Centuries later embroidery,  much like hats and head wear symbolised status, ranking, wealth, social standing and even religion. In the Muslim societies,  high social status was symbolised using gold and silver thread. Embroidery is classified based on the design and the craftsmanship required to produce that particular design. As time went on the introduction of mass production during the Industrial Revolution embroidery became much easier and far quicker to produce.

_20160619_210921

I’ve only worn this embroidered skirt twice and on both occasions I’ve gotten a lot of compliments for it. It is embroidered with a white ribbon. I wish it was fuller though,  I was tempted to add a multi layered tuille like skirt under it but I don’t have the time.

I would really like to own an embroidered denim jacket right now, I think they’re so cool and very unique in their personalisation. One day, some day when I have tons of time on my hands I shall learn the skill and art of embroidery. I imagine it both cathartic and relaxing.

Outfit details: Skirt & mesh top- China Mall JHB

White vest- Identity

🔹 🔷 🔹

Here are some really cool and creative designs I pulled off the interweb…

AngieTinashe 😘

Leave a Reply

