Accessories Maketh The Outfit

Accessories sure do maketh the outfit. They can turn a simple outfit into a jaw dropping “Wow! She looks amazing!”

To get started, let’s define what an accessory is.
Google says an accessory is “a thing which can be added to something else in order to make it more useful, versatile or attractive.” In this case that would be your watch, sunglasses, scarf, belt, necklace, bracelet, hair ornament, hat, earrings, bag, shoes, etc… .

Less is more. Its very easy to get carried away with accessories then you look like you wore everything you own. Accessories should look like you intentionally wore them, not because you have them otherwise it’s overwhelming on the eye. Too much looks flashy and overdone.

20160821_140252~2

Size matters. Ever seen a petite person carrying a bag so big that it takes all the attention or a bigger person carrying a very stylish yet tiny bag that i goes unnoticed? The size of an accessory should compliment one’s stature so always opt for an average size. I personally don’t like oversized bags because I never have anything to fill them up with then I look frumpy. Besides they’re so cumbersome to carry.

20160821_140629~2

Occasion appropriate. Where are you going? What will you be doing? What is the weather like?  You need to consider all this, you don’t want to ditch accessories because they’re getting in the way of your activity, changing your outfit completely. Try carrying a clutch bag to a concert or festival. Not the most practical.

1471638181146

Choose complimentary colours. Colours don’t always have to match but should rather compliment the outfit and your complexion. Imagine wearing a white dress, white bag with white shoes- you’ll look like a blob of Tipex! Stick to having a common element and theme to your look.

20160821_135716~2

Age appropriate. There is a fine line between juvenile and youthful. Decide whether you want to look chic, professional, elegant, classy, sophisticated, fun, casual, artistic, or trendy according to your age. I find pearls to be very tricky to pull off without looking too conservative and dated so I stay away from them completely.

1471638215627

One way to update old clothes is by wearing new accessories that are in season. It’s also much easier on the wallet too. This is probably one of my best ‘skills’, I wear clothes I’ve had for years over and over but only update the look with new accessories. People have this perception that I shop a lot but I don’t.

20160821_140904~2

My personal accessories style.
I don’t do earrings at all. I don’t like things jangling on my ears so I stick to studs, diamond or gold. That’s it. I prefer statement bib necklaces as opposed to long stringy ones as they make me look even taller and get in the way. Once in a while I wear a pendant necklace. I used to love wearing rings but after a while they rust and I lose them when I take them off to wash my hands. A watch and bangle always does it on my wrists. I generally like to wear one bold accessory which will be my focal point, even if it’s just a headwrap.

Outfit details:

Hairband: Lovisa

Necklace worn as bracelet: Truworths

Clutch bag: Klines

Dress: Mr Price

🔹 🔷 🔹

Thanks for visiting, I’m off to eat some Woolies cakes because no Sunday is complete without cake!!!

AngieTinashe 😘

Leave a Reply

